A Night of Hollywood Glamour

As I sit on my couch, watching a cheesy rom com and still smiling from last night, I can safely say I haven’t not wanted a weekend to end like this in a very long time. I have the best collegues, principals and friends in any school hands down; and I could never dream of the amount of support that they have provided me with. Not only have they been flexible with me leaving and returning to work, but last night they threw me a Cabaret that would rival my 21st as my most memorable occasion.

Initially I was very apprehensive about such an event in my name. I didn’t feel it was necessary, and I found the thought of that much attention very overwhelming. As the night got closer, and it became a reality that the Cabaret was happening; I thought it would be a nice chance for my family to be introduced to the many special people I have met in Horsham, Murtoa and Rupanyup. So 20 of them made the trip. I told my very good friend Brittyb to fill a table with her own Horsham friends, because there was no way she was getting out of coming. Not only did she book a table for her friends, but my friends aswell when she surprised me with my school friends who travelled from Albury, Melbourne, Geelong, Mildura and Adelaide. Having the girls there, with my family was really quite surreal and definitely set the night up to be quite special.

I work with the most generous people I have ever come across. Not only were there 25 auction prizes, varying from an electric heater, to a signed Gold Coast Suns jumper and a night at Crown to a guided hike in the Grampians, but there was a rather large raffle with a variety of lovely prizes. Special mention must go to the boys who paid a sigificant amount of money to go skiing with their mates, and to Emily who thought she was bidding on a night in Halls Gap when she paid $70 for tickets to the Horsham Cinema. Ryan gave a speech that not only embarrassed the hell out of me, but made me laugh about this whole crazy cancer thing, something I think I’m getting pretty good at.

I need to say thank you again to the many people that made Saturday night the great night that it was. The band was fantastic, the dance floor was full, the bar was more than efficient and the decorations looked amazing. I also need to thank the Rup netballers for their novelty cheque! Please note, if anyone has located said cheque, give me a heads up, it didn’t manage to make it home with me, and I really like it.

I got to bed far too late, and woke up far too early but spent the day sending off family and friends, before doing what I do best and having a solid nap on the couch. As all people who work the Monday – Friday routine, on Sunday night I looked at the week ahead. Heading to school Monday and Tuesday, then… treatment Wednesday. My heart sunk. It’s been two and a half weeks since my last treatment and it has been very eventful. I’ve had so much fun and is safe to say, for the most part, have felt like me again. I don’t want to stop hanging out with my friends and going to work. I find it really difficult not to hate the very thing that’s making me better, as treatment is what stops me from doing what I love. I’m trying to find the words to describe exactly how much I dread treatment, but as I do so, I’m reminded that there is no point. I still have to have it, and this one is exciting because its the end of cycle number three out of six.

Here’s to being half way in 16 days, and only having three cycles left of my new normal. Count down is on!

4 thoughts on “A Night of Hollywood Glamour

  1. Hey Rach,
    You are an inspiring young woman. You are so strong and positive. You have grown into an amazing, grounded person. Your mum and dad should be so very proud of you. I look forward to the day that you kick cancers butt. Keep positive.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

